Home / Types and characteristics of optical fibres

Types and characteristics of optical fibres

Types and characteristics of the optical fibres

G.652 – Standard single-mode fibre

These fibres are widely deployed in the public networks and they represent a large majority of fibres that have been installed.

A single-mode optical fibre with zero-dispersion is a key foundation to the modern optical networks that are the basis of all modern telecommunications, it is classified by ITU-T G.652 standard. This fibre is widely used and optimized for the transmission with the wavelength around 1310 nm. The upper limit of the wavelength L-band is 1625 nm. To test the fibre to macrobending, the mandrel with the radius 30 mm. is used.  

According to the standard the fibres have four categories A, B, C, D.

The fibre G.652. А meets the requirements applicable for informational flows transmission of the level STM 16, - 10 Gbit/s (Ethernet) for the distance up to 40 km., in accordance with G.691 and G.957 recommendations, and also level STM 256, according to G.691.

 

The fibre G.652. B meets the requirements applicable for informational flows transmission of the level STM 64 in accordance with G.691 and G.952 recommendations, and also level STM 256, according to G.691 and G.959.1.

G.652.C and G.652.D fibres enable the data transmission in the wider wavelength range from 1360 to 1530 nm,, they are also characterized by low water peak (LWP) (water peak of the single-mode fibres is located in the wavelength range from 1300 nm to 1550 nm). Other characteristics of the categories C and D are equal to those of G.652.A and G.652.B.

G.652.A/B is equivalent to OS1 (ISO/IEC 11801 classification), G.652.C/D  is equivalent to OS2.

 

When the higher data transmission speed is required and the distance exceeds 40 km., the use of the fibre G.652 leads to the disagreement between the performance efficiency and single-mode fibre standards and as a result, it requires complex endpoint equipment.

G.655 – Single-mode non zero-dispersion shifted fibre (NZDSF)

Single-mode non zero-dispersion shifted fibre is optimized for the transmission of different wavelengths (Wavelength Division Multiplexing WDM and Dense Wavelength Division Multiplexing DWDM). The “Corning” fibre has a double acrylate coating which provides high efficiency and reliability. The outer coating diameter is 245 Mcm.

NZDSF is especially designed for trunk optical fibre lines and global communicational networks, which use DWDM-technology.

The recommendations divide the fibres into three categories – A, B, C, these categories have different polarization mode dispersion coefficients, chromatic dispersion and wavelength range.

Characteristics of the G.655.A optical fibres enable to use them in the single-channel and multi-channel systems with optical amplifiers (recommendations G.691, G.692, G.693) and in optical transport networks (recommendation G.959.1). The operating wavelengths and fibre dispersion of this category limit the input power thus restricting their use in the multi-channel systems.

The optical fibres G.655.B are similar to G.655.A. But depending on the operating wavelengths and dispersion characteristics, the input power can be higher than for G.655.A. The operating distance of 400 km for STM-64 level systems can be provided according to the requirements applied to Polarization Mode Dispersion.

The G.655.C fibres are similar to G.655.B, but more stringent requirements regarding Polarization Mode Dispersion enable to use STM-256 level systems with G.655.C optical fibres (G.959.1 recommendation) either to increase the transmission distance of the STM-64 systems.

G.657 – Bend-insensitive single-mode optical fibre

The bend-insensitive single-mode optical fibreG.657 is widely implemented in the indoor cables installed in the networks of multi-story building, business complexes etc. The fibre G.657.A in it’s optical characteristics is absolutely similar to the standard fibre G.652.D, at the same time the fibre G.657.A has a twice less permitted bending installation radii – 15 mm. The fibre G.657.B is used for short distance connections and has extra low bending losses.

Single-mode optical fibres with low bending losses are designed for the FTTH networks of the multi-story buildings, the advantages of these fibres are revealed in the restricted space. The operating rules for G.657 fibre is almost identical to those of the copper-core cable.

The fibre G.657 is divided into categories A and B, the difference among them is in the core diameter and the minimum bending radius performance.

The core diameter for G.657.A is from 8,6 to 9,5 µm, the core diameter for G.657.B is from 6,3 to 9,5 µm.

 

 

The standards for macrobending losses were significantly tightened since this parameter is crucial for G.657:

Ten turns of the fibre G657.A about the mandrel with the radius 15 mm should not exceed the attenuation coefficient value of 0,25 dB at the wavelength 1550 nm. A single turn of the same fibre about the mandrel with the diameter 10 mm should not exceed the attenuation coefficient value of 0,75 dB, providing that the other parameters are not changed.

Ten turns of the fibre G657.B about the mandrel with the radius 15 mm should not exceed the attenuation coefficient value of 0,03 dB at the wavelength 1550 nm. A single turn of the fibre about the mandrel with the diameter 10 mm should not exceed the attenuation coefficient value of 0,1 dB, about the mandrel with the diameter 7,5 mm should not exceed the attenuation coefficient value of 0,5 dB

 

Recommendation ITU-T G.657.A determines the priority to compatibility with the ITU-T G.652.D fibres with respect to the functionality.

Recommendation ITU-T G.657.B focuses on the bending insensitivity but not on the compliance with the requirements of G.652 standards.

International organization for standardization (ISO) and International Electrotechnical commission (IEC) issued the ISO/IEC 11801 standard  -  “Information Technology – Generic Cabling for Customer Premises”.

The standard determines the structure and requirements for the implementation of the universal cable network as well as requirements for the performance of the individual cable lines.

The standard defines several classes of optical channels/links for Gigabit Ethernet (similar to copper lines categories).

Class

ММ-channel attenuation (dB/km)

SM-channel attenuation (dB/km)

 

850 nm

1300 nm

1310 nm

1.550 nm

OF300

2.55

1.95

1.80

1.80

OF500

3.25

2.25

2.00

2.00

OF2000

8.50

4.50

3.50

3.50

The second edition of the standard defines three classes of the MM-fibres – OM1, OM2, OM3 and one class of the SM-fibres – OS1. These classes differ in the attenuation coefficient and overfilled modal bandwidth.

Fiber class

Core Diameter, µm

Overfilled modal bandwidth, MHz х km

Effective Laser Launch Bandwidth, МГц х км

 

850 nm

1.300 nm

850 nm

OM 1

50 or 62.5

200

500

N/A.

OM 2

50

500

500

N/A.

OM 3

50

1.500

500

2.000

Guidelines for the fibre type selection

All lines within 275 m can work with the protocol 1000Base-Sx. The length within 550 m can be achieved by using 1000Base-Lx protocol combined with the shifted light input (Mode Conditioning).

Channel class

Fast Ethernet

GigaBit Ethernet

10 GigaBit Ethernet

100 Base T

1000 Base SX

1000 Base LX

10GBase-SR/SW

OF300

OM1

OM2

OM1*, OM2*

OM3

OF500

OM1

OM2

OM1*, OM2 *

OS1 (OS2)

OF2000

OM1

OM2 Plus, ОМЗ

OS1 (OS2)

*  Mode Conditioning

Class OM4 MM-fibre is characterized by the minimum overfilled mode bandwidth of 4700 MHz x km at the wavelength 850 nm (Class OM3 shows the minimum overfilled mode bandwidth value 2000 MHz x km)

OM 1 и OM2 – Standard multimode fibres with the core diameters 62,5 µm and 50 µm respectively

Cables, patch cords and pigtails with multimode fibers of the types OM1 62.5 / 125µm and OM2 50 / 125µm have been used for a long time in the SCS for data transmission at high speed and at relatively long distances, which are required in the trunk lines. The most important operating parameters of the MM-fibers are attenuation and overfilled mode bandwidth. Both parameters are determined for wavelengths of 850 nm and 1300 nm, these lengths are used by the largest part of the active network equipment.

OM4 – “laser-optimized” multimode optical fibre with the core diameter 50 µm

This multimode fibre is especially designed for Gigabit and 10 Gigabit Ethernet networks, the only core diameter available is 50 µm.

OM4 type multimode fibre - is now fully corresponds to modern standards for the optical fibers designed for data processing centers and server groups of the next generation. OM4 optical fibre can be used to build more extended lines in the new generation data transmission networks with the highest transmission performance. This fiber is the result of further optimization of OM3 fibre characteristics, making it possible to achieve the data transmission speed of 10 Gb / s over 550 meters. OM4 fibre types are characterized by higher minimal overfilled mode bandwidth of 4700 MHz/km at a wavelength of 850 nm (compared to 2000 MHz/km OM3 type fibre).

Главная / Характеристики и типы оптического волокна

Характеристики и типы оптического волокна

Характеристики и типы оптического волокна

G.652 - Стандартное одномодовое волокно

Является наиболее широко используемым одномодовым оптическим волокном в телекоммуникациях.

Одномодовое ступенчатое волокно с несмещенной дисперсией служит основополагающим компонентом оптической телекоммуникационной системы и классифицируется стандартом G.652. Наиболее распространенный вид волокна, оптимизированный для передачи сигнала на длине волны 1310 нм. Верхний предел длины волны L-диапазона составляет 1625 нм. Требования на макроизгиб - радиус оправки 30 мм.

Стандарт разделяет волокна на четыре подкатегории A, B, C, D.

Волокно G.652. А отвечает требованиям, необходимым для передачи информационных потоков уровня STM 16, - 10 Гбит/с (Ethernet) до 40 км, в соответствии с Рекомендациями G.691 и G.957, а также уровня STM 256, согласно G.691.

Волокно G.652.B соответствует требованиям, необходимым для передачи информационных потоков уровня до STM 64 в соответствии с Рекомендациями G.691 и G.692, и уровня STM 256, согласно G.691 и G.959.1.

Волокна G.652.C и G.652.D позволяют осуществлять передачу в расширенном диапазоне длин волн 1360-1530 нм и обладают пониженным затуханием на "пике воды" ("пик воды" разделяет окна прозрачности в полосе пропускания одномодовых световодов в диапазонах 1300 нм и 1550 нм). В остальном аналогичны G.652.A и G.652.B.

G.652.A/B - эквивалент OS1 (классификация ISO/IEC 11801), G.652.C/D – эквивалент OS2.

Использование волокна — G.652 при более высоких скоростях передачи на расстояния более 40 км приводит к несоответствию эксплуатационных качеств со стандартами для одномодового волокна, требует усложнения оконечной аппаратуры.

G.655 - Одномодовое волокно с ненулевой смещенной дисперсией(NZDSF)

Одномодовое волокно с ненулевой смещенной дисперсией NZDSF оптимизировано для передачи не одной длины волны, а сразу нескольких длин волн (мультиплексного волнового сигнала WDM и высокоплотного волнового сигнала DWDM). Волокно Corning защищено двойным акрилатным покрытием СРС, обеспечивающим высокую надежность и работоспособность. Наружный диаметр покрытия равен 245 мкм.

Волокно с ненулевой смещенной дисперсией (NZDSF) предназначено для применения в магистральных волоконно-оптических линиях и глобальных сетях связи, использующих DWDM-технологии. В этом волокне поддерживается ограниченный коэффициент хроматической дисперсии во всем оптическом диапазоне, используемом в волновом мультиплексировании (WDM). Волокна NZDSF оптимизированы для использования в диапазоне волн от 1530 нм до 1565 нм.

Рекомендации разделяют волокна на три подкатегории - А, В, С, которые различаются по значениям коэффициента поляризационной модовой дисперсии, хроматической дисперсии и рабочему диапазону.

Оптические волокна категории G.655.А обладают параметрами, обеспечивающими их применение в одноканальных и многоканальных системах с оптическими усилителями (Рекомендации G.691, G.692, G.693) и в оптических транспортных сетях (Рекомендация G.959.1). Рабочие длины волн и дисперсия в волокне данной подкатегории ограничивают мощность входного сигнала и их применение в многоканальных системах.

Оптические волокна категории G.655.B аналогичны G.655.А. Но в зависимости от рабочей длины волны и дисперсионных характеристик мощность входного сигнала может быть выше, чем для G.655.А. Требования в части поляризационной модовой дисперсии обеспечивают функционирование систем уровня STM-64 на расстоянии до 400 км.

Категория волокон G.655.C подобна G.655.B, однако более строгие требования в части поляризационной модовой дисперсии позволяют использовать на данных оптических волокнах системы уровня STM-256 (Рекомендация G.959.1) или же увеличивать дальность передачи систем STM-64.

G.657 - Одномодовое волокно с уменьшенными потерями на изгибах с малыми радиусами

Оптическое волокно повышенной гибкости версии G.657 находит широкое применение в оптических кабелях для прокладки в сетях многоэтажных домов, офисов и т.д. Волокно G.657.A по своим оптическим характеристикам полностью идентично стандартному волокну G.652.D и в то же время имеет вдвое меньший допустимый радиус при укладке – 15 мм. Волокно G.657.В применяется на ограниченных расстояниях и обладает особо малыми потерями на изгибах.

Одномодовые оптические волокна характеризуются малым уровнем потерь на изгибах, предназначены в первую очередь для сетей FTTH многоквартирных зданий, а их преимущества особенно очевидны на ограниченном пространстве. Работать с волокном стандарта G.657, можно практически как с медножильным кабелем.

Две подкатегории: A и B, которые различаются диаметром сердцевины и работоспособностью при изгибах.

Для волокон типа G.657.A он составляет от 8,6 до 9,5 мкм, а для волокон типа G.657.B - от 6,3 до 9,5 мкм.

Нормы потерь на макроизгибах существенно ужесточены, поскольку этот параметр для G.657 является определяющим:

• Десять витков волокна подкатегории G.657.A, намотанного на оправку радиусом 15 мм, не должны увеличивать затухание более чем на 0,25 дБ при длине волны 1550 нм. Один виток того же волокна, намотанного на оправку диаметром 10 мм, при условии, что остальные параметры не изменены, не должен увеличивать затухание более чем на 0,75 дБ.

• Десять витков подкатегории G.657.B на оправке диаметром 15 мм, не должны увеличивать затухание более чем на 0,03 дБ при длине волны 1550 нм. Один виток на оправке диаметром 10 мм - более чем на 0,1 дБ, один виток на оправке диаметром 7,5 мм - более чем на 0,5 дБ.

Рекомендация: ITU G.657.А определяет приоритет совместимости со стандартными волокнами по отношению к функциональности (с ITU-T G.652D).

Рекомендация: ITU-T G.657.В делает упор на нечувствительность к изгибам, а не на соответствие требованиям стандартов G.652.

Международной организацией по стандартизации (ISO) и Международной электротехнической комиссией (IEC) был опубликован стандарт ISO/IEC 11801 – «Информационные технологии — структурированные кабельные системы для помещений заказчика»

Стандарт задает структуру и требования к реализации универсальной кабельной сети, а также требования к производительности отдельных кабельных линий.

В стандарте для линий Gigabit Ethernet оптические каналы различаются по классам (аналогично категориям медных линий). OF300, OF500 и OF2000 поддерживают приложения оптического класса на расстояниях до 300, 500 и 2000 м.

Класс канала

Затухание ММ-канала (дБ/Км)

Затухание SM-канала (дБ/Км)

 

850 нм

1300 нм

1310 нм

1.550 нм

OF300

2.55

1.95

1.80

1.80

OF500

3.25

2.25

2.00

2.00

OF2000

8.50

4.50

3.50

3.50

Кроме классов каналов, во втором издании этого стандарта определены три класса ММ-волокна — OM1, OM2 и OM3 — и один класс SM-волокна — OS1. Эти классы дифференцируются по затуханию и коэффициенту широкополосности.

Класс волокна

Диаметр сердцевины, мкм

Коэффициент широкополосности при насыщающем возбуждении, МГц х км

Коэффициент широкополосности при лазерном возбуждении, МГц х км

 

850 нм

1.300 нм

850 нм

OM 1

50 или 62.5

200

500

N/A.

OM 2

50

500

500

N/A.

OM 3

50

1.500

500

2.000

Рекомендации по выбору типа волокна

Все линии короче 275 м могут работать по протоколу 1000Base-Sx. Длину до 550 м, можно обеспечить, используя протокол 1000Base-Lx совместно со смещенным вводом светового луча (Mode Conditioning).

Класс канала

Fast Ethernet

GigaBit Ethernet

10 GigaBit Ethernet

100 Base T

1000 Base SX

1000 Base LX

10GBase-SR/SW

OF300

OM1

OM2

OM1* , OM2*

OM3

OF500

OM1

OM2

OM1 *, OM2 *

OS1 (OS2)

OF2000

OM1

OM2 Plus, ОМЗ

OS1 (OS2)

*) Mode Conditioning

Многомодовое волокно класса OM4 характеризуется минимальным коэффициентом широкополосности 4700 МГц x км при длине волны 850 нм (по сравнению с 2000 МГц х км волокна типа OM3) и является результатом оптимизации характеристик волокна ОМ3, обеспечивающих возможность достижения скорости передачи данных 10 Гб/с на расстоянии 550 метров. Новый сетевой стандарт IEEE 802.3ab 40 и 100 Гигабит Ethernet отметил, что новый тип многомодового волокна ОМ4 позволяет передать 40 и 100 Гигабит Ethernet на расстоянии до 150 метров. Волокна класса OM4 планируется использовать в будущем с оборудованием 40Gbps и наиболее широко при оборудовании ЦОД.

OM 1 и OM2 – Стандартные многомодовые волокна с сердцевиной 62,5 и 50 микрон соответсвенно.

Кабели, патчкорды и пигтейлы с многомодовыми волокнами типов ОМ1 62,5/125мкм и ОМ2 50/125мкм уже давно применяются в СКС для обеспечения передачи данных с высокой скоростью и на относительно большие расстояния, которые требуется в магистралях. Наиболее важными функциональными параметрами ММ-волокна является затухание (attenuation) и коэффициент широкополосности (bandwidth). Оба параметра определяются для длин волн 850 нм и 1300 нм, на которых работает большая часть активного сетевого оборудования.

Является специально разработанным многомодовым оптическим волокном применяемое для сетей Gigabit и 10 Gigabit Ethernet, существует только с размером сердцевины 50 микрон.

OM4 – Оптическое многомодовое волокно с сердцевиной 50 микрон "лазер-оптимизированное" нового поколения.

Многомодовое волокно типа ОМ4 – в настоящее время полностью соответствует современным стандартам волокон, предусмотренных для центров обработки данных и групп серверов следующего поколения. Оптическое волокно ОМ4 может быть использовано для более протяжённых линий в сетях передачи данных нового поколения с высочайшей производительностью передачи данных. Это волокно представляет собой результат дальнейшей оптимизации характеристик волокна ОМ3, позволяющего придать волокну характеристики, обеспечивающие возможность достижения скорости передачи данных 10 Гб/с на расстоянии 550 метров. Волокна типа OM4 характеризуются повышенной эффективной минимальной модальной полосой пропускания 4700 МГц км при длине волны 850 нм (по сравнению с 2000 МГц км волокна типа OM3).